Thread: Throw-in
View Single Post
  #30 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 13, 2015, 11:10am
Raymond Raymond is offline
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,954
Quote:
Originally Posted by crosscountry55 View Post
We've danced around this one for a while but the ruling is not clear in the thread. I'm curious because it happened to me in a camp game two summers ago; I wasn't sure, but none of the clinicians brought it up.

A1's throw-in bounce pass was roughly parallel to the sideline and bounced out of bounds before A2 grabbed it downstream on the inbounds side of the plane. Honestly, I ruled violation because it didn't "look" right. I later checked the rulebook and I think I was right because the throw-in wasn't released "directly" into the court. But does this "directly" clause infer that the ball cannot touch out of bounds on the way in? I'm not sure. Or is there a different interpretation that I'm not considering?
Yes, that's what "directly" means in this case.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote