View Single Post
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 08, 2015, 11:18am
j51969 j51969 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Illinois
Posts: 439
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
The answer to your question is in the NFHS Basketball Rules Book.

R9-S4-A4, Penalty 3: "If there is a simultaneous violation by each team, the ball becomes dead and no point can be scored. Remaining free throws are administered or play is resumed by the team entitled to the alternating-possession throw-in from the designated out-of-bounds spot nearest to where the *simultaneous violation occurred."

R9-S4-A4, Penalty 4b: "If the second violation is by the free thrower or a teammate behind the free-throw line extended and the three-point line, both violations are penalized, as in Penalty Item (3).


MTD, Sr.
Pretty clear in case book as noted above my Mark. We just had a dicussion about this in our meeting last night. It seemed to me people are getting wrapped aroung the word "SIMULTANEOUS". As this play rarely happens at exactly the same time.
__________________
"The soldier is the army."

-General George S. Patton, Jr.
Reply With Quote