View Single Post
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 06, 2015, 04:31pm
billyu2 billyu2 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Mentor, Ohio
Posts: 544
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat View Post
take a look at 4.15.4 C, 9.5 (these two basically same play) and 4.44.3 A.

they all seem to stand for the proposition that the player has to be the first to touch the ball for there to be a violation.
the 4.15.4 play is the one where A1 ends dribble and then throws it off his opponents backboard or an official, immediately recovers ball. wording says throwing ball off backboard or official is start of another dribble, PROVIDED A1 is the first to touch it after striking board or official.

4.44.3 play deals with the player who jumps to shoot, ball is touched by B but not knocked loose or out of his hand. shooter then drops ball to floor and is first to touch it--violation. clearly isn't trying to pass to another player in that play either. still violation is being first to touch it. the rules definitions/case plays make us wait to see what happens next before we are able to characterize what the drop of the ball actually is…if player who dropped it with no pivot foot is first to touch it--illegal dribble. if another player touches it first--pass. if the ball just sits there with no one touching --Limbo

i hear what your saying but i think rules require the touch.
I agree. Another good example is 7.1.1D A1 saves the ball from going OB by catching and "tossing" it back to the court. At this point we apparently should not interpret that "toss" as a dribble or a pass. But once A1 recovers the tossed ball it became the start of the dribble. Safe to say if a teammate recovered the tossed ball it would have been a pass .
IOW: "It ain't what it is until it is what it ain't."
Reply With Quote