Quote:
Originally Posted by mutantducky
going back to that set shot. Player shoots without jumping. Ball is released and from around the head and player's arms go forward, defender hits the player's arms on the follow-through. Offensive player hasn't left floor. To me that is a shooting foul if it happens right after. A foul on the arms for the offensive player natural follow through after releasing the shot still impacts the shot.
|
The rule regarding when the act of shooting ends, 4-41-1 is according to the natural laws of physics, thus the act of shooting, by rule, ends ". . . when the ball is clearly in flight. . . " It is impossible for the follow through to affect the flight of the ball! The contact on the hand/arm of a set-shooter, after the ball is "clearly in flight" may affect his/her attitude regarding subsequent tries for goal, but it CANNOT affect the flight of the ball! Such contact will, often, be incidental, and not worthy of a foul being assessed, because it causes no unfair advantage/disadvantage.
WE'RE NOT DEALING WITH MAGIC HERE!
The addition to the rule - ". . . and includes the airborne shooter." is a safety issue, it has nothing to do with the flight of the ball, once "the ball is clearly in flight!"