Quote:
Originally Posted by La Rikardo
I always inform players they can run the end line when I'm handing them the ball on such a throw-in.
|
IAABO mechanics
require us to tell, and signal, both when the player can, and can't, run the endline on all backcourt endline throwins.
I suggest that rookie officials be careful regarding exactly what they say:
Things Officials Should Probably Not Be Saying In A Game
"Don't move”, said to an inbounding player, by an official, before a designated spot throw-in, is another statement that should probably go unsaid. According to the rules, that player can move laterally within a three foot wide area, can jump up, and can move as far back as time, and space, will allow. Better statement: “Designated spot”, while pointing to the spot.