View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 04, 2015, 11:56am
CecilOne CecilOne is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
questions from a non-official

NCAA - seen on TV, not live

(A ) Team X shoots & misses. Scramble for rebound, including 2 or 3 bodies on floor.
Team Y ends up with ball, goes to other end of court and makes a shot.

(B) Officials then stop play because a Team X player (X1) is still lying on the floor at Team X's offensive end.
They check monitors and determine that in the above rebound scramble, a Team Y player kicked the Team X player (X1) in the shin.
(replayed several times by me, looked like just rolling over)

(C) It is called a flagrant 1, the kicked player (X1) shoots 2 free throws and Team X gets possession at the Team Y offensive end, where play was stopped.

Questions
1) Should the Team Y basket in (A) be disallowed because it was scored after the foul?

2) Should the Team X possession be determined by the foul location, not the stoppage location?

(D) Before the free throws in (C), a different player (X2) goes to the line and makes a free throw. Team Y then insists it be the fouled player (X1) and the officials remove the point and conduct the proper free throws. The Team X coach says he can sub for the “injured” player (X1), but the officials see X1 walking around and appearing fit to play.

Questions
3) Should the X2 free throw be called a technical?
4) Does question 3 depend on whether the X2 player was already in the game?

Thanks!
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote