I finally got my 2003 rule book and case book, and now I think I'm more confused than ever regarding the Fed's implementation of PSK. In these books the Federation defines when PSK is enforceable a number of different(inconsistent) ways:
1. In the Rule Changes for 2003, they outline the change to 2-16-2g. There they say PSK is applicable for "fouls by the receiving team during a scrimmage kick..."
2. NF 2-16-2g itself likewise defines PSK fouls as those by R that "occur on R's side of the expanded neutral zone prior to the end of the kick during a scrimmage kick." Also, 2-16-2g states that the kick must end beyond the neutral zone for PSK to be applicable. NF 10-4-3 is inconsistent with that statement.
3. NF 10-4-3a & b say that PSK is applicable when "R fouls occur during scrimmage kick plays..." Meanwhile, they fail to define what a scrimmage kick play is.
4. Then in their Comments on the 2003 Rules Revisions (p. 73), they say that PSK applies for R fouls "...that occur after the ball has crossed the expanded neutral zone on a scrimmage kick, but prior to ending of the kick by rule."
Does anyone have the definitive word from Diehl on exactly what point in the play the possibility for PSK enforcement begins? The snap? the kick? when the kick crosses the ENZ?
The Case Book plays on pp. 3-4 provide no clarity.
__________________
Bob M.
|