View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 16, 1999, 02:42am
Mark Padgett Mark Padgett is offline
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Exclamation

[quote]Originally posted by b_silliman on 12-16-1999 01:11 AM
Coach (Referee) Joe:
"In spite of what many people think (coaches) every conceivable situation is covered in the rulebook and the casebook."

Not really. What about the controversy surrounding the call in this situation? A1 to inbound on spot throw-in. A1 releases the ball toward the court, but before it crosses the boundary line, B1 reaches across the boundary and touches the ball.

Bill Topp, in Referee Magazine, says it is a no-call. Howard Mayo of the NF rules committee says it is a technical foul on B1 and Dick Knox, Chairman of the NF rules committee says it is a violation by B1.

According to a strict dictionary definition of the word "touch" as it appears in NF rule 9-2-pen 3 and reiterated in NF 10-3-12, Howard Mayo is correct. I guess we are supposed to flip a three-headed coin. I have asked Bill Topp to get a clarification from the NF and publish it in Referee.
Reply With Quote