View Single Post
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 27, 2014, 07:43pm
crosscountry55 crosscountry55 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,742
Quote:
Originally Posted by crosscountry55 View Post
12/25/14, ESPN2, after inbound at 17:25 in the 2nd half.

Good non-BI no call by the officials. Rim was accidentally grabbed by defender while shot was in the cylinder and the backboard vibrated for quite a while. Rim returned to steady state long before the shot came down on it. GWU coach screamed for BI, but to no avail.

This happens frequently in my HS games and....well, sorry coach, but there's no rules coverage there. Maybe there should be, but that's an issue for rules committees to take up on another day.

If you listen on, I think the announcers jacked up their assessment completely. That said, I'll humor them. Suppose the rim grab/grasp was intentional. Then what do you have? I still think nothing. If the ball was dead, different story (because dunking/stuffing or grasping the rim with the ball is dead is a T). Thoughts?
Stop the presses. I was wrong the whole time because I didn't realize the NCAA (M & W) rules committees adopted the very rule I suggested they do...two years before I suggested it. It's NCAA 9-17-2a(5) in both books.

I realized I was wrong when I saw a similar call made in the 1st half closing seconds of Gonzaga/BYU on 12/27. Here's what I wrote about that in the vid requests that started pouring in:
--------------------------------
....Was all set to say, "bad call," but then I checked the NCAAM book, and lo and behold, see Rule 9-17-2a(5), which was new for the 2013-15 edition:

"Basket interference occurs when a player...causes the basket or backboard to vibrate when the ball is on or within the basket or the backboard and/or is on or in the cylinder."

So then I used my DVR to look at the play again and...turned out it was an excellent call.

Based on this information, I need to go back and reassess an opinion I had on an earlier thread regarding a rim grab that caused backboard vibration in the Wichita St. vs. GWU game on 12/25. The officials no-called that one, and in hindsight based on 9-17-2a(5), maybe it was BI after all.

I would love to see this adopted by the NFHS, but the problem is that most HS backboards are not portable, so incidences of backboard vibration are much less. For this reason, to avoid officiating inconsistencies, I imagine the rules committee would not adopt it.
--------------------------------
Reply With Quote