Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat
that is a clear difference in the plays. it is certainly germane to the discussion. it may not matter in the end but im not ready to write it off yet. do you have the "order of occurrence" cites handy? i know one of them says personal fouls and technical fouls penalized in order of occurrence. i cant remember the number. i know in rule 4 it defines "foul" and lists various types, including technical. But "team technical" isnt listed there. it is only defined in rule 10.
i'd like to see more before saying 3.4.3 C is flat out wrong. if you have time. thx
|
Big Cat:
Let us look at the following play: Both Team A and Team B dress ten players but only list eight names on their respective Team Rosters at the Ten Minute Mark. Team B has control of the Ball early in the fourth quarter. B1 passes the ball toward B2; the pass is not very accurate and in a failed attempt to keep the Ball from going Out-of-Bounds, B2 is injured and cannot continue to Play. HC-B decides to replace B2 with B9 who is not listed in the Scorebook. Team B is charged with a TF for adding a player to its roster. After B9 has entered the game but before any player from Team A attempts the first FT from Team B's TF, Team A requests and is granted a TO. HC-A sends A10 to the Scorer to report into the game before the TO Warning Buzzer to attempt the FTs. Team A is charged with a TF for adding a player to its roster. The result is that this is a FDF and Team A will attempt its FTs because of Team B's TF and then Team B will attempt its FTs because of Team A's TF; Team B will then be awarded a throw-in at the division line opposite the S/T Table.
The foul sequence in the play in the previous paragraph occured in the same Stopped Clock Dead Ball Period. The foul sequence in CB Play 3.4.3. Sit. C occured in the same Stopped Clock Dead Ball Period.
The RULING in CB Play 3.4.3. Sit. C is defended in the COMMENT of the CB Play which states: "When each team is assessed one technical foul prior to the game, a double technical foul has occurred, as this is considered “approximately the same time”." Based upon the Rules it is a complete fallacy that the two TFs are DTFs. No where in the Rules will anyone find such support for the DTF conclusion stated in the COMMENT.
What is more puzzling is that CB Play 3.4.3 Sit. C references CB Play 6.4.1. Sit. A, which specifically states that the foul sequence is a FDF.
I do not have a problem if the Rules Committee wants TFs committed by each team during the Pre-Game Dead Ball Period to offset, one-for-one, but the Rules Committee must first change the Rules. The Rules Committee cannot just write a RULING that cannot be supported by the Rules and wish (upon a star) for it to be correct. The RULING and COMMENT in CB Play 3.4.3 Sit. C is sheer nonsense; it is not supported by Rule and none of the Rules listed support the RULLING and COMMENT.
"Approximately at the same time" means just that, not that the Fouls occured during the same Stop Clock Dead Ball Period.
MTD, Sr.