View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 19, 2014, 10:34am
bob jenkins bob jenkins is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,180
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeremy341a View Post
H1 is fouled. The table states that is team foul 7 on V. H1 shoots 1-1 and makes both. V1 inbounds the ball and is fouled. That is the 8th team foul on H so V1 will shoot 1-1. While reporting the foul the official is informed that V really only had 6 fouls and H1 should not have gotten a 1-1.

2.10.1h(e) is very similar and states to cancel the made free throws by H and resume play with V having the ball. In this case I would think that to mean resume with the V free throw.

Is that correct? Does H lose their free throws and not get possession of the ball?
Yes. One of the quirks of the rules -- and, perhaps, intentional so both sides have an incentive to "get it right" before the error happens. What looks like an advantage ("haha -- we get FTs when we don't deserve them") can turn into a disadvantage when it's discovered ("we lose the FTs and the ball!?")
Reply With Quote