Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
A dribble deflecting off a teammate is not a pass or fumble. The OP is a violation.
|
4.15.4 SITUATION E: While A1 is dribbling in A’s backcourt, the ball legally
touches B1’s leg, causing it to bounce away from A1. A1 quickly recovers the ball
with two hands and then starts another dribble. RULING: Legal. The touch by B1
ended the original dribble and A1 could then recover and dribble again. However,
the touch by B1 did not end team control and the 10-second backcourt count
continues. (9-5-2)
So if the ball hits A2 (instead of B1), then A1 can't legally start another dribble? It may be true, but I'm not sure that I'm calling it that way.
It's definitely not a fumble:
A fumble is the accidental loss of player control when the ball unintentionally
drops or slips from a player’s grasp.
Could it be a pass?
A pass is movement of the ball caused by a player who throws,
bats or rolls the
ball to another player.
That's it. It's a pass. Legal dribble. Play on.