View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 18, 2014, 04:28pm
BigCat BigCat is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
Case play has this as a travel.
your going to love this Adam. in the other thread play the ball was thrown to the player and he never had control of it so 4-15-2 didnt apply. he just kept bobbling. the case book play says A passes the ball, runs several feet and CATCHES it. that equals travel. i think the catching of it makes it travel. travel rule talks of holding the ball....

in this example the player controls the ball and then throws it. he then runs and bumps it. because he bumped it and didnt catch it---the original throw of the ball was actually the start of a dribble. (dribble begins when player throws/bats ball to floor---doesnt say it has to actually hit floor to be considered start of dribble) when he runs and bumps it he has hit it twice "during the dribble" so he has violated 4-15-2. this could be the air dribble you mentioned. i'm thinking as i go. this could be all wrong... my head hurts.....and the more it hurts im thinking that the other thread play may be better categorized as illegal dribble under 4-15-2 as you said originally..

Last edited by BigCat; Thu Dec 18, 2014 at 04:43pm.
Reply With Quote