View Single Post
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 11, 2014, 03:26pm
La Rikardo La Rikardo is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Salt Lake City
Posts: 184
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
It very well could, and given the NFHS's illogical ruling on contact with the thrower on a throw in, I wouldn't be surprised either way. But unless they say it specifically, I'm going to rule it the same as I would on a normal shot with the clock running.
I think the logic in calling contact on a free thrower who is an airborne shooter as intentional is very sound, but I don't think the rules require it. If you have a foul by B on the free thrower and you choose not to call it intentional, it must be a common foul regardless of whether or not the free thrower is an airborne shooter. The only reason the free thrower's status as an airborne shooter may matter is that you could still have a common foul by B after the ball is dead due to a violation by A.

There probably aren't any other scenarios where a non-PC common foul could be called after the ball is dead...

Last edited by La Rikardo; Thu Dec 11, 2014 at 03:27pm. Reason: clarity
Reply With Quote