Thread: Same number?
View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 06, 2014, 10:26am
jTheUmp jTheUmp is offline
TODO: creative title here
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,250
paulsonj72 is correct.

The position thing is a little bit hazy though... a "position" is not clearly defined in the rulebook. The intention of the rule is so that you don't have a right-handed QB #7 and a left-handed QB #7 (or a traditional punter #12 and a rugby-style punter #12)... but does this apply to a first-string RG #65 and a second-string LG #65? Or an MLB #94 and an OLB #94?

We almost had an issue with this in one of my games this fall... two #1s on the field for Team A on a punt. Luckily for them (and for us, since we didn't catch it until we reviewed the film), Team B called a timeout and Team A came out with different personnel after the timeout.
Reply With Quote