1) Joe did not close down and therefore missed the illegal use of the hands foul by W-1 on B-3.
2) The Flagrant Foul #1 that Joe called on B-3, while "correct" by rule, really cannot be supported by rule (even though the Rules Committee "wishes" it to be), because B-3 was holding his arms in a normal basketball position of holding the ball above his head in preparation to either pass or shoot the ball. Therefore, B-3's elbow contacting W-1 was nothing more that a Common Foul (in this case a Player Control Foul) against B-1.
MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
|