View Single Post
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 04, 2014, 12:47pm
Remington Remington is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by westneat View Post
I would also like to see someone comment on the play noted in this article:

ACC Basketball: Strange ruling costs N.C. State a chance to tie Purdue - Fayetteville Observer: ACC Basketball

I don't work NCAA, but it sounds like the rule quoted is meant to apply to loose balls. His teammate is still holding the ball when he comes back in bounds, so he wouldn't be "first to touch".
9-4-1 NCAA-M
Art. 1. A player who steps out of bounds under his own volition and then becomes the first player to touch the ball after returning to the playing court has committed a violation.

a. A violation has not been committed when a player, who steps out of bounds as permitted by Rule 7-4.6.b, does not receive the pass along the end line from a teammate and is the first to touch the ball after his return to the playing court.
Reply With Quote