View Single Post
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 04, 2014, 12:42pm
westneat westneat is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
That's a pretty basic NCAA rule. If you go OOB of your own volition, you cannot catch the first pass after you return.
Hey, so I found a copy of the NCAA rules book. Can you help me find where it says this?

The closest I can find is 9-4-1.

"A player who steps out of bounds under his own volition and then becomes the first player to touch the ball after returning to the playing court has committed a violation."

But in this case, he's (Player A1 that goes out of bounds) not the first player to touch the ball. His teammate (A2) is still touching the ball and hasn't released a pass, so A2 is the first person to touch the ball after A1 returns from out of bounds. So how can there be a violation?

Is there a case book or AR (whatever the NCAA M version is) for this rule?
Reply With Quote