Quote:
Originally Posted by Smitty
My thought is you're just not getting it. It's been explained (very well) several times.
|
I have stated page numbers, articles and quotes directly from the rulebook. Here are the responses I have received.
Since the kick was intentional (by definition), it falls in the second category. Since the kick isn't legal (also by definition), the throw-in doesn't end, so the AP arrow isn't switched.
The throw in doesn't end. So wouldn't it still be an AP throw-in?
A gets a throw in for the violation, and the throw-in for the held ball "never happens"
In the rule book (Pg. 40, Art. 5) only a violation by the throw-in team ends the throw-in. A defensive violation does not, therefore, Isn't it still an AP throw-in?
The throw-in doesn't end on a kicked ball because the touch was not legal.
Exactly. The throw-in doesn't end because it was a violation by the defense. So it's still an AP throw-in isn't in?
Because A's ensuing throw-in (after the kick) is for the kicked ball violation. It's no longer an AP throw-in. A still retains the arrow.
Why is it no longer an AP throw-in? The rule says the throw-in ends on a violation by the offense, not the defense.
if you stick your foot out and kick ball that is an intentional act. not legal touch so throw in doesn't end… good luck
You're right. The throw in doesn't end on a kicked ball. So what kind of throw-in do you call the next one? Since the throw-in didn't end, wouldn't it still be an AP throw-in?
it does say that the only time the arrow is lost is when the throw in team violates. in a note or comment.
EXACTLY! So why does the defense lose the arrow on a violation? The arrow is only lost when the throw-in team (offense) violates. Just like you said. Why would the defense lose the arrow for a kicked ball (violation)?
It's postponed until the next held ball -- not until the next throw-in.
Where does the book say that? I've looked all over. Practically read the whole thing. Cite me a page number or something.
Did you get to 4.42.5?
Yep. And it says word for word: "The throw in ends when: The throw in team commits a throw-in violation." Not one word about a defensive violation.
Not one place in this entire book does it say that the defensive team can lose the arrow on a violation on a throw-in. Also not one place where it says the throw in ends on a violation by the defense. Only the offense can lose the arrow on a violation, not the defense. It clearly states this on page 40 and 48.
Maybe I'm crazy!!??