View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 30, 2014, 12:56pm
Rob1968 Rob1968 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 782
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
There are a few Case Book plays detailing that the arrow is not reversed on a kicked throw-in pass.

If Team B violates, the new throw-in is now for the violation and not the held ball, so there would be no reversing of the arrow. Most people don't know this and the NFHS even incorrectly issued an interp a few years ago stating that the new throw-in remained an AP throw-in.
The explanation in Case Book 4.42.5 is helpful: COMMENT: The kicking violation ends the alternating-possession throw-in and as a result, a non-alternating-possession throw-in is administered. When the ball is legally touched on the subsequent throw-in following the kicking violation, the arrow is not changed and shall remain with Team A.

I also find Rules Book 6-4-5 to be instructive: . . .The opportunity to make an alternating-possession throw-in is lost if the throw-in team violates. If either team fouls during an alternating-possession throw-in, it does not cause the throw-in team to lose the possession arrow. If an opponent commits a violation during the throw-in, the possession arrow is postponed.

(I find the word "postponed" to be especially helpful, in understasnding the situation addressed in this thread.)

Case Book 6.4.5 SITUATION A COMMENT has similar wording.
__________________
To be good at a sport, one must be smart enough to play the game -- and dumb enough to think that it's important . . .
Reply With Quote