"Depends on when he gathers the ball Coach"
In your scenario if the player gathers the ball with both feet off the floor the first foot to return would be the pivot (step 1). Then the other foot comes down (step 2). The player can pick up his pivot (first foot down) but cannot return the pivot to the floor before passing or shooting.
If the player gathers the ball with one foot already on the floor that automatically becomes the pivot and the rules still apply.
If the player gathers the ball with both feet on the ground either one may be established as the pivot and the rules still apply.
You do know the traveling rule, right?
|