View Single Post
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 21, 2014, 03:18pm
Zoochy Zoochy is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 844
Letter to IAABO

This was my question/Statement to IAABO.
I do not understand the Ruling reference to the 3rd paragraph under 'Rules Reminders & Interpretations'. Rule 9-1-3g does not justify the violation to B3. Many years ago when the players in a markes lane space could enter the lane on the release of the Free Thrower, there was a restriction stating they could not break the Free Throw line, nor make contact with the Free Throw shooter before the ball contacted the rim. That rule went away when ALL players were restricted to move until the ball contacted the rim
As you are aware, the free thrower is restricted to the free throw semi-circle until the ball contacts the backboard or basket ring.


This is the response from Pete Webb
The free throw semi-circle is "off limits" to all other players until the ball contacts the backboard or basket ring.

The players located in marked free throw lane line spaces along the free throw
lane line may enter the free throw lane, upon the free thrower's release of the
free throw. Those players may not, with their foot, break the outside edge of the free throw line until the ball contacts the backboard or basket ring.

Chances are that the rule will be edited (re-written) for 2015-16


I wanted to reply saying if there is nothing saying it is wrong, then it must be OK.
Reply With Quote