Thread: PSK
View Single Post
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 07, 2003, 12:07pm
Ed Hickland Ed Hickland is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 1,130
Quote:
Originally posted by Bob M.
What exactly do you do with an R foul that occurs during a try or unsuccessful FG attempt in OT? Is that covered elsewhere? In NCAA rules, such a foul reverts to previous spot enforcement. Do the new NF rules clarify that?? As you said, probably a lot of editorial revision still required.
Bob M., you think of everything -- an unsuccessful FG during OT!

5-1-2 under Resolving Tied Games states:

When the defensive team gains possession of the ball, the down and the series immediately end for the offensive team.


My personal interpretation is if a PSK foul occurs, B will still gain possession of the ball on an unsuccessful field goal attempt.

Rule 8-3-5 covers trys:


...If during a successful try, a foul by B occurs, A is given the choice of:

a. Accepting the penalty and replaying the down following enforcement; or,
b. Accepting the result of the play and enforcement of the penalty from the succeeding spot.



[Edited by Ed Hickland on Jul 7th, 2003 at 12:13 PM]
__________________
Ed Hickland, MBA, CCP
[email protected]
Reply With Quote