Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref
4-15-5: There is no player control during an interrupted dribble.
Therefore, where is the ball?
4-4-2: A ball which is in contact with the court is in frontcourt if the ball is not touching the backcourt.
4-12-2c: A team is in control during an interrupted dribble.
Ball in team control was caused to go into frontcourt and now is returned to backcourt.
Violation. 9-9-2
|
Also 4-15-1
A dribble IS-- ball movement caused by a PLAYER IN CONTROL who bats (intentionally strikes ball)…
the ball location rule 4-4-6 says "during a DRIBBLE" from front BC to FC...
Therefore, for the ball and two feet stuff to apply a player must be must be in control and intentionally batting etc. as noted above there is no player control during interrupted dribble. also, interrupted dribble definition says ball deflects off leg or slips away...
interrupted (to stop) dribble is the nearly exact opposite of a dribble. the phrase contains the word DRIBBLE which leads to the confusion but it is not a dribble. clear as mud I'm sure...