View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 22, 2014, 07:49pm
HLin NC HLin NC is offline
Chain of Fools
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,648
The game is over as there is no untimed down after enforcement. See 3-3-4 b 3 and Note: The score is cancelled in the event of an accepted penalty that specifies a loss of down.

This was fixed several years ago for the infamous "A88 play" where the receiver throws an IFP and gained an advantage under the then rules about untimed downs. Rather than looking at it from the LOD angle, the advantage was removed by eliminating the untimed down to follow.

In your play, A will accept the penalty, 5 yards back to A6, game over.
Reply With Quote