View Single Post
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 14, 2014, 11:13am
Camron Rust Camron Rust is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob1968 View Post
But, Smitty, 4-12-1 tells us that "A player is in control of the ball when he/she is holding or dribbling a live ball."
And, 4-12-2 "A team is in control of the ball:
a. When a player of the team is in control.
d. When a player of the team has disposal of the ball for a throw-in."

Thus, for purposes of a Test question/answer, as to whether there is player control during a throw-in, one must play the "what does the test administrator want for an answer, type game," and respond, "Yes."
I seem to recall that this same or a similarly worded question appeared on last year's test, and they were eliciting a "True" answer. (?)
They dropped a key word from this rule recently...'inbounds". Perhaps it was an editing error and they still intend for PC to only exist inbounds.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote