
Mon Oct 13, 2014, 04:49pm
|
Administrator
|
|
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,141
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by Freddy
Thrower-inner A1 backs up and, running toward the endline, jumps across the endline over the court and releases a throw-in pass prior to landing on the floor inbounds.
On a designated spot throw-in the illegality of this "long jumper" seems clear because of 7-6-3 ("...shall not leave the designated throw-in spot until the ball has been released on a throw-in pass") and 4-42-6 NOTE ("...must keep one foot on or over the spot until the ball is released). The throw-in spot exists only in out of bounds area, according to 4-42-2 ("...a method of putting the ball in play from out of bounds").
QUESTION: What rulebook citation, if any, exists that prohibits "long jumper" A1 from doing this on a throw-in after a made or awarded basket, when the designated throw-in spot is not relevant?
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by bballref3966
No violation. He was OOB when he released the ball. (9-2-10 Note)
The thrower has no depth limitation on a throw-in. As long as he stays within the width of designated spot, your scenario is not illegal.
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by rockyroad
The post did point out that you were wrong in your assumption that it was illegal on a designated spot throw-in.
As for a throw-in after a made basket, there is no restriction on the throw-in breaking the plane on a throw-in. So it doesn't matter whether ir is a spot throw-in or after a made basket. As long as they release the throw before they touch inbounds.
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by Freddy
I'm happy to call the long-jumper "legal" on a designated spot throw-in, except for this one requirement, expressed in two places, that sticks in my mind:
"The thrower must keep one foot on or over the spot until the ball is released" (4-42-6 NOTE). And, "The thrower shall not leave the designated throw-in spot until the ball has been released on a throw-in pass" (7-6-3 and 9-2-1). The phrase "You are where you were 'til you get where you're going" seems not to apply when the above requirement restricts it, with the designated spot, of course, not extending past the boundary line.
The NOTE after 9-2-10 ("The thrower may penetrate the plane provided he/she doesn not touch the inbounds area..." doesn't, I'm thinking, dismiss the above requirement, either.
Agree?
Important to me cuz "Throw-Ins" is the topic of our next pre-season rules meeting.
Thanx for your responses, the ones that dwell on what's in the book.
|
The correct RULING for the situation in the OP is that it is a Throw-in Violation. Why? The governing rules citations are NFHS R4-S42-A6 Note and R7-S6-A3. NFHS R4-S42-A2 and R9-S2-A10 are not relevant to this play. Furthermore, it would be a Throw-in Violation regardless whether it was a Designated Spot Throw-in or a Throw-in anywhere along the End Line after a score.
MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
|