Thread: Opi?
View Single Post
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 08, 2014, 04:03pm
MTUMP MTUMP is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ref1973 View Post
NFHS:

Lineman A77 is blocking lineman B56 5 yards beyond the neutral zone on a pass that crosses the NZ.

OPI or just ineligible downfield. 7-5-9(b) states that it is not OPI when an ineligible blocks when warding off an opponent. Just clarifying though.
7-5-9(b) has the presupposition that B touched the ball....read 7-5-10 rule as well very clear:

ART. 10 . . . It is forward-pass interference if:
a. Any player of A or B who is beyond the neutral zone interferes with an eligible opponent's opportunity to move toward, catch or bat the pass.
Reply With Quote