View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 07, 2014, 12:40pm
youngump youngump is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
I'm not envisioning anything, just reading the OP. It clearly states the runner rounded 3rd on the throw home, not to 2nd. That is an active runner in jeopardy.



I WOULD have to see it, but if you want to work with supposition, how do you know it was obvious C wasn't throwing to 3B if her attention and throw was drawn by the retired player? I've often seen a catcher make a throw to 3B when it seemed obvious there was no play. But what may seem obvious to you may not be to the catcher, OR the runner who make get caught sleeping.

As noted, HTBT, but the team violating the rule should not get the benefit of any doubt.
So I'm a little confused on your take on this. (And frankly it's always been a little obscure). So if the runner is not in jeopardy at the time of the throw (laying on the ground having just slid into third and not even getting up), and then the offense draws an illegal throw to second and then the runner from third gets up and runs home, do you have interference? And how long can you wait? For example, suppose the throw goes into center field but the runner is still getting up so she doesn't move yet and then the center fielder misplays the throw that never would have happened and now the runner goes home.
Reply With Quote