View Single Post
  #32 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 07, 2014, 10:46am
Camron Rust Camron Rust is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
2006-07 SITUATION 9: With less than one minute to play in the fourth quarter, Team A scores a field goal to tie the game. B1, standing under the basket after the score, secures the ball and begins heading to the end line for the ensuing throw-in. A1 requests and is granted a time-out. RULING: Legal procedure. Team A may request and be granted a time-out until the ensuing throw-in begins. The throw-in does not begin until B1 has the ball at his/her disposal and the official has begun the five-second count.

I also seem to recall that "out of bounds" was part of the "disposal" definition a few years ago. I don't have my attic handy to check.
Great citation Bob. This all but spells out that the count doesn't start and the throw-in doesn't begin until B1 is at least OOB since it says that A1 can still have their timeout while B1 is heading towards OOB....even with no delay.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote