NCAAW Cases
A.R. 18. When may a scorer signal the officials by sounding the horn?
RULING: When the scorer desires to call attention to a player who
is illegally in the game, the scorer may signal the official when the
ball is in control of that player’s team or when the ball becomes
dead. When it is for a substitution, the scorer may signal when the
next dead ball occurs or when the offending team has team control.
When it is for conferring with an official, the scorer may signal
when the ball is dead. When the scorer signals while the ball is live,
the official shall ignore the signal when a scoring play is in progress.
That part in red doesn't seem right to me. I only noticed because the case had been slightly revised. The same sentence is in last year's book (AR 17)
A.R. 208. Early in the second period, Team A inbounds the ball after a
violation and neither the shot clock nor game clock is started. Team A
dribbles and is under pressure in their back court. When officials realize that
neither clock is running, play is stopped. After consulting with table officials,
it is determined that Team A has had the ball for 10 consecutive seconds in
their back court.
RULING: The officials shall correct the timing mistake by placing
the correct time on the game clock as to when the 10-second back
court violation occurred and shall award the ball to Team B at a spot
nearest to where play was stopped to correct the timing mistake.
(Rule 9-11, 5-12.1, 5-12.4, A.R. 121 and 122)
This is a new ruling this year. Three questions: (1) How does the table determine that more than 10 seconds occurred (esp if there's no replay)? (2) What do we do if the table doesn't know? (3) The ruling seems inconsistent with the other new rulings that do not allow using the game clock to determine a violation (in those cases, the shot clock was off)
|