Thread: Pylon Play
View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 26, 2014, 11:35am
MD Longhorn MD Longhorn is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by swkansasref33 View Post
FED Rules: Receiver is in the endzone, jumps up to catch a pass. He has control of the ball, and his first point of contact is his left foot hitting the pylon, then he comes down out of bounds. Is it a legal catch or no catch?

Partner rules catch, states that just like the ball hitting the front pylon while in player control, the back pylon should be ruled the same.

I know what I think, but I was unable to find a rule reference. Any takers?
When his foot hits the front of the pylon, his foot is in bounds in the air, as in the case your partner cites... however... to have a catch you must have a foot in bounds ON THE GROUND. In your situation, he does not. Incomplete.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote