View Single Post
  #55 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 23, 2014, 12:55pm
JetMetFan JetMetFan is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: West Orange, NJ
Posts: 2,583
From Peter Webb, IAABO

When in doubt, go to the source...or as close as you can get:

Your groups concern is right on. The new Case Book Play 4.14.1 D ruling is not accurate. A commendation to you and the group for reviewing the Case Book play(s) and for caring to share your concern.
The NFHS Editor was informed about the concern earlier this month. IAABO will have a memo out to Interpreters shortly. The memo will include several pre-season items including this Case Book Play.

As per Rules 4.14.2 and 2.11's Note following Article 5 are support for (a) the situation not being a correctable error situation; (b) citing the accurate ruling that the player was a player when he/she attempted the free throws and the points are counted.

For IAABO,

Peter

Peter Webb
IAABO Coordinator of Rules Interpreters & Trainers
__________________
"Everyone has a purpose in life, even if it's only to serve as a bad example."
"If Opportunity knocks and he's not home, Opportunity waits..."
"Don't you have to be stupid somewhere else?" "Not until 4."
"The NCAA created this mess, so let them live with it." (JRutledge)
Reply With Quote