View Single Post
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 04, 2014, 12:00pm
Robert Goodman Robert Goodman is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,916
Quote:
Originally Posted by HLin NC View Post
In NC our ruling is there can be no delay.
Then I think you're seeing so many offense systems where the ball is snapped out of the free blocking zone, you're assuming it!

In the usual type of double wing system where this sort of play is done, the snap is handed, not passed. It is possible in some cases that it would then be tossed to another back outside of the FBZ, but usually he's inside it, and in other cases the ball would be handed to another back who's definitely inside the FBZ. So I don't think the "no delay" consider'n applies to most of these cases.

Quote:
is the TE an Offensive Linemen for Article 3 & 4
Yes. I hope no rules writer ever adopts a definition where "lineman" means one thing and "player...on his line" means something different! It's confusing enough with "linesman" in there.

Last edited by Robert Goodman; Thu Sep 04, 2014 at 12:03pm.
Reply With Quote