Here is a closely related question from the IHSA (Illinois) test. NFHS Rules.
Team A's #10 serves the ball. At the moment of serve, the R2 whistles an illegal alignment on Team B. The served ball does not cross the net. It is then discovered that Team B players were legally aligned. What is the official's ruling?
A. Replay
B. Point for Team A
C. Net serve by Team A and Team B is awarded a point/loss of rally.
D. None of the above.
Here is my issue with this question:
If the R2 whistled at the exact moment of the serve (server's hand was still contacting the ball when the whistle sounded), an argument could be made that the whistle interfered with the server's action. Thus, a replay (A) should be awarded.
However, if the server had already completed her contact with the ball when the whistle sounded, I would rule a net serve (C).
Fortunately, this was not one of the 25 questions I had to answer on my individual test. Have any Illinois officials on this forum had to answer this question? One test question has already been thrown out because it was worded so poorly. I am wondering what answer the state is accepting as correct for this question.
|