Quote:
Originally Posted by jeremy341a
With the new rule change on when players can enter the lane on the free throw attempt I foresee a situation I don't know the answer to. What is the ruling when a player displaces the free throw shooter while the ball is in flight and the contact warrants a foul?
Situations
1. Front end of bonus free throws and shot is made or first first free throw in a 2 shot foul.
2. Front end of bonus free throws and shot is missed or second free throw in a two shot foul.
My guesses are
1. Clear the lane for the second free throw. After the completion of the second free throw Team A will be awarded bonus free throws if applicable or the ball out of bounds on the end line underneath the basket if team A is not in the bonus.
2. No more free throws for the original foul and then Team A will be awarded bonus free throws if applicable or the ball out of bounds on the end line underneath the basket if team A is not in the bonus.
Am I correct?
|
I would say yes you are correct in the proper award, but the question I have is the location of the throw in. I have always been told if you have the foul outside the free throw line, the throw in is on the sideline, not under the basket. Since this case would appear the foul like occurs right at the free throw line, where is the correct place for the throw in? On the side or underneath. Personally I would give it underneath as well, but I could see a coach arguing otherwise.