Quote:
Originally posted by Hawks Coach
Quote:
Originally posted by NWAhoops
BktBallRef - Does that logic/rule also apply to the free throw line?
|
In a way it does, but probably not how the way you are asking if it does! The external edge of the FT line and all other lines around the lane define the external edge of the lane. If you touch the edge of the line, you are in the lane. With three seconds, FT line, and FT lane violations, think of the lane AND it's boundary lines as another restricted area.
|
Coach, I have heard that a quick way of thinking about this is: If you step on the OOB lines you are out, if you step on the lines inside the court you are in that area.
For example, stepping on the lane lines puts you in the lane, and stepping on the division line puts you in the backcourt.