Quote:
Originally Posted by chapmaja
Ok, here is a question regarding a field I work on occasion. Over the left field corner there is a tree that overhangs into left field (fair territory). What is the proper ruling if a batted ball hits the tree.
I have always been told it is a foul ball, but a couple weeks ago the ruling was supposedly a do over in this instance.
I can see the do over as a possibility if the ball is in fair territory because you can put both teams in jeopardy with the ball hitting the tree. The ball hitting the tree could prevent a ball from clearing the fence for a home run. It could also prevent the defense from making a catch on the batted ball.
What is the official ASA ruling on this. Also, what is the NFHS ruling on this because I will be at a couple fields next spring that will have this issue, but over the third base line on the infield.
|
This is to be covered by the local ground rules. This will not be covered in official ASA (or NFHS) rules or rulings, since official ASA (or NFHS) fields do not have overhanging trees!

This should be discussed at the plate meeting so both coaches know what the ground rule is dealing with the tree.