New partner
PONY State tournament this weekend. Already have team A mad at me (apparently their batter should be allowed to accidentally interfere with a D3k, but whatever)...
Partner's in "C", grounder to F6, fires to F3. I'm in holding position, ball solidly in F3's glove, no pulled foot.
I bust up for the play at 3rd when I hear behind me "she bobbled it!" (1B coach)
With no play at 3rd, I work my way back to plate, when Partner calls me to him. I think "oh no, don't say it..."
Partner: "did you have a bobble on the transfer?"
Me: "Why ask me that? Has nothing to do with this play."
Partner: "Absolutely it does! Did you have it?"
Me: "Listen to me. If you call that, defense will protest the call and they will win. I don't want that on my field."
He didn't budge. Called the runner safe.
Talking to a brick wall, I walked away. Fortunately, defense was as clueless as he, so no protest.
Anybody here ever overturn a call that was not judgement, but rule interp?
|