View Single Post
  #53 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 20, 2014, 05:07pm
Adam's Avatar
Adam Adam is offline
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
The clock question really isn't all that different than the situation where the ball is thrown inbounds and is touched inbounds where it is immediately knocked OOB. We all know the clock should have started and then stopped but if no time has elapsed what do you do? Usually...nothing.

The point of the matter is that one official properly indicates that the clock should start and the timer does so. Another official covering the line where the ball is thrown, a moment later, indicates that the clock should stop...and the timer does so. I just don't see where there is an error. Everyone did what they were supposed to do. Short of a rule that says that it is an error to do what you're supposed to do, I see this as just a quirk in the rules and coverages.
What about the equally likely scenario where both signals are made simultaneously, and the timer does not start the clock.

Or the primary question, what if Nevada is officiating and everything happens in his coverage. He chops time in and immediately hits his whistle. The timer does not respond, and no time runs off.
Anyone taking time off?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote