View Single Post
  #50 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 20, 2014, 04:15pm
Nevadaref Nevadaref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
Certainly, they could be the same person. But, in a 3-person game, the administering official is only going to be covering one line much of the time (sometimes two).

As for illegally touched, I don't think it is illegally touched. It is legally touched in an illegal location. And that is the difference.

The NFHS has previously distinguished between the two in a few ways. For example, a kick is considered a violation before the throwin ends. An OOB violation is treated as if it occurs after the throwin ends. This is demonstrated in how the arrow is treated on a throwin. If the violation is a kick (illegal contact) the arrow is not switched. If the violation is an OOB (legal contact, illegal location) the arrow is switched. Likewise with the right to run the endline when there is a violation on a throw-in.
I agree 100%. Thanks for posting excellent illustrative examples of how "legally touched" is interpreted and enforced under NFHS rules.
Hopefully, these examples will make some people think about this situation in a new light and realize that the same understanding needs to be applied to the rules pertaining to starting and stopping the clock.
Reply With Quote