People should also consider the history of this NFHS rule.
I don't have time at the moment to post the documentation, so I'll edit this post later and do so.
The word legally was added to account for a rule change involving the kicking of the ball by a defender during an AP throw-in. Prior to that the clock started on any touch by a player from a throw-in pass. Now we must understand the wording to have only altered the timing rule for contact by a kick (or fist). Why? Because that is what the NFHS said when making the change.
|