View Single Post
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 19, 2014, 02:42pm
Nevadaref Nevadaref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdray View Post
A1 receives a pass with both feet on the floor, jumps and lands simultaneously on both feet and then releases a shot. Is this a legal move or is it a travel?
Even though A1 has not established a pivot foot after catching the ball, when A1 jumps off both feet, one of his feet must be considered a pivot foot and if either returns to the floor while A1 is still in control of the ball, then a traveling violation has occurred.

This principle is detailed in the NFHS Casebook ruling below.

4.44.3 SITUATION B:

A1 receives the ball with both feet off the floor and he/she lands simultaneously on both feet without establishing a pivot foot. A1 then jumps off both feet in an attempt to try for goal, but realizing the shot may be blocked, A1 drops the ball to the floor and dribbles.

RULING: A1 has traveled as one foot must be considered to be the pivot and must be on the floor when the ball is released to start a dribble. The fact that no pivot foot had been established does not alter this ruling.
Reply With Quote