| 
			
			 
			
				Mon May 12, 2014, 01:12pm
			
			
			
		 | 
	| 
		
			
			| Official Forum Member |  | 
					Join Date: Nov 2002 Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE) 
						Posts: 6,425
					      |  | 
	
	| 
			
			
	Quote: 
	
		| 
					Originally Posted by Manny A  FED rules.  R1 and R2 at third and second, resp.  Single scores both, but R2 misses the plate as the throw home gets cut off and a play is made on the BR going to second.  As R2 heads for her dugout, the on-deck batter, who saw R2 miss home, grabs her, turns her around, and tells her to go back to home.
 What should the PU do at that point?  Does he/she rule R2 out immediately for teammate assistance under rule 8-6-5?  Or does that rule no longer apply since R2 passed home so she is assumed to have reached it, thereby making her a runner that has already scored?  And if that's the case, does that scored runner stay viable for an appeal call even if she touches home because she was assisted by a teammate to do so?
 |  I think the "grabs her, turns her around" part is assistance as opposed to the verbal part; so assisted runner applies.
		 
				__________________Officiating takes more than OJT.
 It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
 |