View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 22, 2000, 11:26am
mikesears mikesears is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Bloomington, IL
Posts: 1,319
Question

Game Situation:

Player A1 is getting ready for a 1-and-1 free throw attempt. Team B coach sends one player at a time to the scorer's table to report in. When the first player is done reporting and beckoned, he sends the second player to report. When the second player is done reporting and beckoned, he sends the third player to report. When the third player is done and beckoned into the game, he sends the fourth player to report. This all took about 45 seconds to complete and, in affect, he gave himself a time-out by doing this. I am confident that this coach was intentionally delaying the free-throw. Would you have kept the 2,3, and 4 player from reporting until after the first free-throw? If not, how would you have handled this?

I know the rule is that a player must have reported or be in a position to report before the ball becomes live. How does an official stop the above mentioned behavior?
Reply With Quote