Quote:
	
	
		| 
					Originally Posted by chapmaja  No, I am following the argument that a coach who knows the rules would make, which is 7-4-12 is not the rule applicable under the 2014 rulebook (even though it should be). 
 Also, you site that rule says use 7-4-12. The rulebook index also does reference rules 3-5-5 and 8-6-16 as interference by a coach.
 
 Given the way the rules are, it is not as clear cut as it seems with using 7-4-12 for the ruling. You may disagree, but I can not use the 2013 rulebook to make a call in the 2014 season, even if the change is just an editorial change. The simple FACT is 7-4-12 does not apply to a coach who is in the coaches box and interferes with a foul fly.
 | 
	
 Yes it does.  And more to the fact, 3-5-6 does as well.
Rule 3-5 in general deals with Coaching.  So what comes under that section (3-5-1 thru 3-5-7) applies primarily to coaches.
When it comes to foul fly balls, 3-5-6 specifically deals with this, not 3-5-5.  And it says the batter is out.  Even though it refers to team members and not team personnel, the fact that it's listed under 3-5 implies that the coach is included.
7-4-12 is just a direct quote of 3-5-6 to allow for the rule to include base runners as well as coaches.
Argue semantics if you want.  The simple fact is, when a coach interferes with a fielder trying to catch a foul fly ball, the batter is the one ruled out, primarily under both 3-5-6.