View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 25, 2014, 08:26am
AtlUmpSteve AtlUmpSteve is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
Quote:
Originally Posted by Little Jimmy View Post
Rule 8-2-9 note and casebook 2.30 B ruling seem told support all outs on this play. What rule trumps these?
Generally, NFHS 10-2-3-m, using the wording "rectify any situation" can trump any other. Use of that rule has to be judiciously applied. But, if you judge one team was put in jeopardy as a result of reversing a decision (didn't call the infield fly, applying it retroactively is a reversal), you have the authority and obligation to fix it.

That said, based on the OP (not force outs, just bad baserunning), I have two outs on THAT play. While the thread has morphed, I believe IrishMafia is addressing those that state it will always be a double play if the rule is applied retroactively, not so much the initial post.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote