View Single Post
  #31 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 24, 2014, 08:47pm
chapmaja chapmaja is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,241
Quote:
Originally Posted by Little Jimmy View Post
Rule 8-2-9 note and casebook 2.30 B ruling seem told support all outs on this play. What rule trumps these?
I think there is a difference between the OP and the discussion about putting a team obviously in jeopardy by not calling he IFF. In the case of the discussed items, the DP resulted from out called as force outs on both runners, when they should not have been forced to advance.

In that case you are putting both teams in jeopardy by not calling the IFF. First, you require runners to advance when they should not be forced to advance. Second, the defense will likely only tag the base for the force out, which is not a legal out since the IFF should have been called. When the DP is two force out plays, the only proper procedure is to negate the penalty both teams would incur, rule the Batter out, and put the runners on the bases they should be on had they not been forced to advance.

This used to be in the casebook somewhere, although I don't recall the location,

This is different from the OP which is a case the runner was off base and was tagged. You can't rightfully put the runner back on a base when it was their mistake that caused them to be off the base because that penalizes the defense which rightfully tagged the runner who was off the base out.
Reply With Quote