Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
Using this logic, a runner who shortcuts the base cannot be considered as having touched is because they never passed it.
|
When do you consider a runner to have passed the base? You need to be able to answer that question to be able to rule on appeals for a missed base.
There is no difference between a runner who misses a base by stepping with one foot on either side of the base, and running 10 feet inside of the base, short cutting the infield. As soon as they pass the base, they are subject to appeal for missing the base. Home plate is no different. As soon as they pass home plate they are subject to appeal for missing the plate.
The way the rules are written, yes the umpire needs to rule on the team on the third base side different from the first base side. Given the way the rules regarding running awarded bases, making plays on an runner awarded a base, and appeals are written, the runner for a team in the third base dug out would need to do something else to be ruled out on appeal, such as enter dead ball territory, or not have touched the base before the next pitch.
One other thing to consider, the umpire can rule the play dead under casebook play 8-3-11 situation c, when the runner acts in a manner not consistent with fair play. If the runner is intentionally not touching home plate, the umpire can declare the ball dead, require the runner to touch home plate, and issue a warning for unsportsmanlike behavior.