Thread: Just wondering
View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 29, 2003, 09:51pm
SC Ump SC Ump is offline
Official Forum Member
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 994
If you mean explaining to a coach the ruling that was posted, I would hope that however the explanation was done that the coach then said, "I protest".

The ruling is not correct.

In most all softball organizations the "penalty" for obstruction is to award the baserunner the base they would have reach had there been no obstruction. The runner at third would not have reached home if there had been no obstruction.

Furthermore all organization have rules that state something similar to -

"A run shall not be scored if the third out of the inning is a result of:
a) The batter being put out before legally touching 1st base.
b) A base-runner being forced out due to the batter becoming a baserunner."
Reply With Quote